Quick Links

Useful Links

Bolsover Infant & Nursery School

All about Our Governors

The School Governing Body is made up as follows:



Mr Hughes

Mrs C Ashley

Miss F Cowan

Mrs P Blakeley

Mrs L Collins

Mr G Flowers

Mrs Jo Gent




Members of SMT join when needed - Mrs Fernandez/Mrs Lypeat/Miss Lister

Business Manager joins every meeting as an associate

 Annual Governance Statement: For 2020/21

(Statement for 21/22 coming soon)

annual governance statement bols inf nurs nov 2021.pdf

 Structure of our Governing body

The governing body shall consist of:

  1. 4 parent governors
  2. 1 LA governor
  3. 1 staff governor
  4. 1 Headteacher
  5. 8 co-opted governors.

 Total number of governors is 15.

                                                        Full Governing Body

All boards, whether in the maintained or academy sector and no matter how many schools they are responsible for, have three core functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. 

The role of the governing body is to:

  • set the strategic direction, vision and ethos of the school
  • monitor and challenge the progress of the school in achieving its priorities
  • recruit and performance manage the headteacher
  • exercise employer responsibility
  • ensure the school(s) meet its statutory responsibilities
  • ensure financial probity
  • ensure the premises are well managed and
  • report to the school's stakeholders.

Here at Bolsover Infant and Nursery our Full Governing body meets 5 times a year. We then hold smaller Committee groups. They meet 4 times a year. Their remit is:

Resource Management Committee

Management and Leadership

School Development Committee

Curriculum Standards and community links

Standards / Quality of Ed / Climate

Finance                      Management Policies


Workforce Remodelling

Health and safety


Performance Management

Pay Committee

Performance Review



Recruitment and selection

 Setting the agenda of the meetings

School Improvement Plan

Ofsted  - Action Plans etc

Target Setting


New Developments


Curriculum Policies              


Home / School liaison      


Personnel Appeals committee

Performance Management Review

Complaints Committee



Monitor Exclusions

 We also have named governors for focus areas. These are:

Named Governors

·     Literacy – Cuan Jacques

·     Numeracy – Lindsay McGowan

·     SEND and Children with Medical Needs – Vacancy

·     Safeguarding and Children in Care – Rachael Brennan & Tamara Greatorex Hughes

·     ICT – Rachael Brennan & Gareth Flowers

·     Health & Safety – Pauline Blakeley

·     Pupil Premium & Sports Premium – Vacancy

·     Performance Management – Rachael Brennan & Hayley Major

·     Behaviour and Anti-Bullying –Katie Jepson

·     Attendance – Pauline Blakeley


 Terms of Reference for our Committees